Monday, July 31, 2006

The Machine Stops

What we learned in school returns

A different form of egg


Dog days of September

Be afraid, be very afraid

Sunday, July 30, 2006

To think we breath the same air or

la rocca

la rocca
Originally uploaded by twoeightnine.
It is not often that when you see an old castle that you think "how forward looking?" Given world events, la rocca seems divine.

Friday, July 28, 2006

Drool cups all 'round.


Wondering whether it is...

a hymn to battle?
I have read a fiery gospel writ in burnished rows of steel:
"As ye deal with my condemners, so with you my grace shall deal;
Let the Hero, born of woman, crush the serpent with His heel,
Since God is marching on."

Or whatever you may call 'im.

Wednesday, July 26, 2006

Failure deconstructed

Tuesday, July 25, 2006

If I never heard the word

Muqtada sur la playa?

Monday, July 24, 2006

Who(m), you might ask?

Sunday, July 23, 2006

It bears repeating

Saturday, July 22, 2006

It can't happen here..............


'nuf said

Crying shame

Friday, July 21, 2006

We Can't Make It Here Anymore

- by James Mcmurtry

or for a quote du jour

"He who joyfully marches to music in rank and file has already earned my contempt. He has been given a large brain by mistake, since for him the spinal cord would fully suffice. This disgrace to civilization should be done away with at once. Heroism at command, senseless brutality, and all the loathsome nonsense that goes by the name of patriotism, how violently I hate all this, how despicable and ignoble war is; I would rather be torn to shreds than be part of so base an action! It is my conviction that killing under the cloak of war is nothing but an act of murder."
- Albert Einstein

Plan B 2.0

Sense of scale (and proportion)

Thursday, July 20, 2006

My comment on current events?

Just what it says

Optical delusions still themselves when you pass by in convexing pomp and sacral trance

Yeah, yeah, I know, but still.

Wednesday, July 19, 2006

Quote du jour

Planning is most effective when it's practiced in advance.

William McDonough
And if you know who McDonough is and especially if you don't, watch this.

Tuesday, July 18, 2006

There's never time to do it right

When I'm 76

It can't happen here [# 3671]

Monday, July 17, 2006

Andorra Ratifies Nuclear Test Ban Treaty

Saturday, July 15, 2006

Off the pigs

Friday, July 14, 2006


Once more

Deep diversion

Should you think it necessary?

Thursday, July 13, 2006

Might as well pump it

Wednesday, July 12, 2006

Count me out

If I get a message that my provider is going to bill me for, I'll throw the damn thing in the river. Imagine all the accidents when the fools look at the message while driving. As near to the Rapture as modern technology can make it.

Ain't no war like the one I got

Day in and day out. Bush has a base?

If I could turn back the hands of time

is not a soul tune. "Chances of Voting Rights Act renewal dim." Isn't this the 21st century?

Another good read on Net Neutrality

To the wizards who dreamed up the Net, the bigger concern was speculative: What would happen to Amazon, for instance, if Comcast, the largest high-speed Internet provider over cable modems, struck an exclusive deal with Barnes and Noble and tilted its Web traffic to its new partner? Or, if cable cut off all access to sites owned by rival companies? Such scenarios were not far-fetched. In 2000, Time Warner Cable temporarily cut off Walt Disney's television shows to 3.5 million customers in a dispute over fees.

Remember when AT&T was offered the internet by the government? Just as stupid then as they are stupid now. Of course then, they didn't factor in greed.


Amazing ad from a bank you'll never use

Just watch it.

On petting zoos and a new FEMA

Tuesday, July 11, 2006

Mud, mud, glorious mud

and more than 2000 images. Serenity.

Go ask Alice

Sunday, July 09, 2006

"The Power of Nightmares: Rise of the Politics of Fear"

Nostalgia ain't what it used to be

I was somewhere in New Hampshire with 2 English cousins.


Saturday, July 08, 2006

Beyond Lunacy

Versailles on the Tigris

Or- "L'etat, that's that."

Do you get it yet?

Friday, July 07, 2006

More arrant nonsense

in preparation for another Friday night. Or- Which particular mouth breathing, knuckle dragging sector of the populace actually believes dubya's happy horseshit any more?

Thursday, July 06, 2006

Oh, so titillating...

Wednesday, July 05, 2006

Adopt a Missile

Oh, dem bones

and unshaggy dogs. A great Post post-obit.

Les liasons dangereuse

Tuesday, July 04, 2006

More fourth with strings and knots

Flag gear

Cautionary tales

Monday, July 03, 2006

Reap and ye shall...

I imagine some of you have read this week's article by Seymour Hersh. So did John Robb. So?

Sunday, July 02, 2006

Shallow, if not inbred

What have we here?

53 + 1